Home MovieBabble Theater ‘Crude Oil’ by Christopher Good

‘Crude Oil’ by Christopher Good

by The MovieBabble Staff

Crude Oil from Christopher Good on Vimeo.

Jenny breaks free from a toxic friendship and learns to harness her magical, useless superpower.

 

Nick Kush: Crude Oil is such a delightfully silly and experimental short film that labeling it as “quirky” doesn’t do it justice — it breaks the quirkiness scale. The rapid-fire cutting and goofy performances are disorienting in the best way possible, grabbing you by the shoulders and shaking you until the short meets its end. And among all the fast-paced absurdity and wild imagery, Crude Oil even weaves in an oddly touching take on female friendship. Sign me up for whatever Chris tackles next!

 

Festival Selections and Awards

2019 Sundance Film Festival Grand Jury Prize Experimental Short

2019 Nashville Film Festival

2019 Palm Springs International ShortFest

2019 Sundance Film Festival Shorts Tour

Advertisements

2019 Calgary International Film Festival

2019 Denver Film Festival

2019 Indie Memphis Film Festival

2019 New Hampshire Film Festival

2019 Cucalorus Film Festival

2019 Sarasota Film Festival

2020 Mecal International Short Film Festival of Barcelona

2019 Tallgrass Film Festival

2019 Internationale Kurzfilmtage Winterthur

2020 Istanbul International Short Film Festival

2019 Leiden International Film Festival

2019 Milano Film Festival

2019 Lago Film Fest

2019 Chicago Critics Film Festival

2019 Mammoth Lakes Film Festival

2019 Omaha Film Festival

2019 24fps International Film Festival

2019 Filmfort

2019 Kansas International Film Festival

2019 St. Cloud Film Fest

2019 Rated SGF Film Festival

2019 Victory International Film Festival

2019 Kansas City FilmFest International

Credits

Written and Directed by Christopher Good christophergood.net

Produced by Andreina Byrne andreinabyrne.com

Director of Photography: Jeremy Osbern jeremyosbern.com

Executive Producer: Jeremy Osbern

Associate Producer: Bear Damen czar.nl/director/bear-damen/

Production Designer: Sinjun Strom sinjunstrom.com

Production/ Post-Production Sound: Danny Bowersox plusminusaudiopost.com

Music by Matt Hill matthewhillmusic.com/umberto

Styled by Sarica Douglas

Visual Effects: Eric Bacus

Compositing: Cooper Vacheron coopervacheron.com

Fabrication: Anthony Putzier anthonyputzier.com

Color/ Titles: Stephen Deaver stephendeaver.com

Choreography by Kristopher Estes-Brown kristopherestesbrown.com

Production Assistant: Ryan Bowersox

Steadicam Operator: Jordan Marable

Key Grip: Kyle Wilson

Assistant Camera: Jeffrey Mundinger jeffreymundinger.com

Additional Camera Operator: Collin Martin

 

Andreina Byrne as Jenny

Tipper Newton as Lynn

Josh Fadem as Ken

 

View the MovieBabble Theater Library

To watch the other short films featured on MovieBabble Theater, click here.

 

Submit Your Film to MovieBabble Theater

To submit your own short film for consideration, visit the MovieBabble Theater information page by clicking here.


Follow MovieBabble on Twitter @MovieBabble_

Thank you for watching! What are your thoughts on Crude Oil? Comment down below!

If you enjoyed this article, subscribe to MovieBabble via email to stay up to date on the latest content.

Join MovieBabble on Patreon so that new content will always be possible.

Related Articles

1 comment

Nick Kush April 28, 2020 - 6:06 pm

Join the MovieBabble staff: https://moviebabblereviews.com/join-moviebabble/

Like MovieBabble on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/moviebabblereviews/

Follow MovieBabble on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/moviebabble/

Follow MovieBabble on Twitter: https://twitter.com/MovieBabble_

Reply

Leave a Comment Below!

%d bloggers like this: